2017 BCYC Pursuit Race – 15 July

The 2017 BCYC Pursuit Race took place on Saturday 15th July – on a not so typical summer’s day! 9 entries  in challenging weather , poor visibility, rain and not a little wind – was not a race for the faint hearted

The stiff breeze favoured the Dart fleet with Tony Rees and Jo Mullet taking full advantage, quickly asserting a commanding lead that they would never lose, making this their second consecutive Pursuit Race victory.

Once again, a thank you to the MYC and to Dai Thomas for providing safety cover. Also to  Alyson Nicholson and Rachel Ace for running the race from the deck of Alyson’s Achilles 24, Myhtos – no mean feat given the conditions.

2016 Pursuit Race – Saturday 18th June

We stole a summer’s day for the race, conditions almost perfect with sunshine and a fairly consistent westerly 10kts breeze. Our Race committee consisting of Alyson Nicholson, Alison Alderman and Rachael Ace did a sterling job of timekeeping on the start line aboard Alyson’s Achilles 24, “Mythos”

12 boats entered,  with 1st Laser starting at 1540. The remaining  boats consisted of  a 420, two Ospreys, a Dart 15, four Dart 18s, and an F18 starting at 1645.

At the finish time of 1800 Tony Rees & Jo Mullett were way out in front, having sailed a faultless race, on the upwind leg of their 7th lap, whilst all others were fairly closely spread along the final reach on their 6th lap, other than the the F18, a lap down

1st        Tony Rees & Joanne Mullett – Dart 18 : 2nd Tim & Sue Ley – Dart 18 – 1st BCYC boat : 3rd Alistair Ramsden & Steve Ace – Osprey

2015 Pursuit Race – 27th June

Blue skies and 12 knots of breeze greeted the 12 entrants of this year’s pursuit race, comprising 4 Lasers, an RS Feva, an Enterprise, and 6 Dart 18s.

With fairly consistent wind-strength over the duration of the race, the Lasers had good speed in their early laps unlapping themselves from the Feva on just before completion of  (their) Lap 2 and catching the Enterprise on Lap 3.

Whilst the Dart 18s unlapped themselves with times varying between 18’24s and 20’35s, there was a titanic battle at the front with Anthony Harvey leading Graham Porter  for all but the last leg by a decreasing margin between 28s and 8s. But in a manoeuvre of genius, Graham  as leeward boat, forced Anthony wide into an extra gybe on the penultimate leg (downwind) to take the lead for the final leg and start his 5th lap 40 seconds before end of the race (EOR). Anthony crossed 9 seconds before EOR,  approx  31 seconds behind

Oscar & Niamh Chess finished in 3rd just before starting their 5th lap  50 metres behind Anthony (estimated at 19 seconds behind).

Oscar’s penultimate lap was a minute and 6 seconds faster than his last. The racing couldn’t have been closer.

2014 BCYC Pursuit Race – 8th June 2014

Excellent turnout of 15 boats for the Pursuit race comprising 3 Lasers, a 505, an Enterprise,  7 Dart 18s, a Hobie Tiger, a Laser Stratos and an RS Feva. Alas both regular Achilles 24s were absent, as was Molly – last years 3rd placed sportsboat.

With the forcast 10 knot breeze absent for 800m from the Knab, many entrants failed to make the mid-bay startline at their  appointed start time. It was testamount to the skill of the Race Committee of Alyson Dacey, assisted by Simon Jenkins that that positioned the course in the only part of the Bay with decent wind.

Light airs was the real challenge, and for the second year in sucession (albeit with a different boat) Simon Brewer took the honours, by 300m over Anthony Harvey in his Laser, holding off Steve & Sam Ace in their Enterprise by a further 300 m.

All 3 boats were on the same down wind leg.  Tony Rees was 1st Dart 18 home, 100m behind the Enterprise.

Colin Jenkins was 1st BCYC boat home, and presented with  a trophy by Alex  Ley that had originally been donated to the BCYC (and lost until recently) by his Great Grandndfather.

All photographs courtesy of and ©Simon Jenkins.

2013 Pursuit Race – October 15th

There was a good turnout of 9 boats for the Pursuit race comprising Lasers, a B14, an Osprey, Dart 18s, a Cork 1720 and 2 Achilles 24s. With a threatening forecast the entrants dealt with increasing Force 3 to 5, with some stronger gusts that favoured the later starting faster boats.

With masterly planing skills the B14 helmed by Simon Brewer, crewed by Alistair Ramsden pulled away from the Osprey of Oscar Chess with special crew Greg Burgess to win by half a lap. Graham Porter skippered Molly, Cork 1720 into 3rd place 1 lap behind the winner.

Thanks to all who dared challenge the forcast at the second attempt to run this year’s race, and Simon Brookes and Mumbles Yacht Club for the use of their ribs.

All photographs courtesy of and ©Simon Jenkins.